Hi, my name is DeathByJets and I?m a loserholic

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by DeathByJets, Sep 15, 2008.

1. DeathByJets

DeathByJets Well-Known Member

Hi, my name is DeathByJets and I’m a loserholic.

It has been 24 hours since I last drank the Kool-aid. I have been backing losers since I was 8 years old.

I am a fan of the Jets, Mets, and Knicks. I have not backed a winning candidate for President since I have been eligible to vote (5 elections and counting). And my all-time favorite rock band (Rush) will never be elected to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. If not for Bill Buckner, I would be 0-for-life.

The problem isn’t so much that I back losers, it’s that I convince myself that this time it will be different. Oh, how many times did I say Ewing and the Knicks will beat Jordan and the Bulls. No brainer…Al Gore just has to beat Bush. And this time we will beat the Belichick and the Pats.

To the loserholic, you always think you’ve hit rock bottom and things have to improve…and then something like yesterday happens. Brady is out, this is our chance. We are going to make those third down stops. Farve will be able to move the team better than Pennington. With our improved O-Line punching it in from the 1 should be no problem.

And then depression sets in. The Sunday night fog after a loss, followed by a Monday of ridicule in the office and reading the NY paper diatribes online. Ugh.

By Thursday I’ll be pulling myself out of my loserholic funk, and start to convince myself the Jets can beat the Chargers. And if this season doesn’t turn out as expected, at least I can bask in the certain victory to come from Barack Obama.

So, clearly you can see I need help. I’ve decided to enroll in a 12-Step Program:

1. We admit we were powerless over the Same Ole Jets—that our Sundays have become unmanageable.
    2. Come to believe that a Power greater than ourselves (I assume this is Brett Favre) could restore us to sanity.