Conklin plans on signing with the Jets (Signs with Browns)

Discussion in 'National Football League' started by BroadwayAaron, Mar 1, 2020.

1. dawinner127

dawinner127 Well-Known Member

I don't understand where you are coming from at all in terms of OL. On this board for the past 6 months you have been the biggest advocate for fixing the OL - no matter what. Trent Williams on the table, no go, he's too much. Conklin too much. Do you just wanna sign a bunch of jags at OL or draft a bunch of rookies and plug them in? There are legit starters out in FA or to be had by trade and you don't want any of them because the price is too much.

I rarely agree with DWC because I think a lot of his takes are over the top and filled with hyperbole, but he is spot on when he says,

2. FJF

FJF 2018 MVP Joe Namath Award Winner

Winters will be back on a reduced contract. He’s an nfl level guard when healthy and Joe D lives him.
    Conklin is going to get what he is worth on an open market and we have the room to do it. I’m not looking to go cheap on the line. Jets are playoff contenders last year with Conklin and Glasgow despite all the other injuries and disappointments.
    2nd point is nobody can say with any certainty what is and isn’t too expensive. The cba hasn’t been ratified and after it is there will be new tv deals that could take the cap much higher than the jump we see next season.

3. Jonathan_Vilma

Jonathan_Vilma Well-Known Member

Agreed. We can't be cheap everywhere. We should work to extend Adams and Maye. Retain Anderson and Jenkins. After that, we have a lot of young players on long deals (at corner and along the defensive line).

If we tie money up into our safeties, as we should, then we can't afford expensive corners either. You can't have ace players at every position. The strong safety/lesser corners in a cover 2 scheme where 6 in the box can stop the run, worked well for this team.