How good is Austin Howard?

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by Mangold Goldman, Nov 5, 2013.

1. Mangold Goldman

I love football, and I love the Jets, but I don't consider myself some kind of expert or anything like that. But, whenever I read about Howard, it seems nobody really can put their finger on how good he is.

Now, like I said, I'm no expert, but to me he seems like a pretty good right tackle. He seems to be pretty good in pass protection, and I can't really tell how good of a run blocker he is because i don't really watch tape and stuff like that. You usually dont hear his name during the broadcasts, which usually means hes doing his job.

What do you guys think, especially ones who watch tape and know intricacies of line play? What kind of contract is he in line for, and will he be a sought after player in free agency?

2. RutgersJET

RutgersJET Member

When nobody has been saying anything bad about him, then you know he's doing his job.

3. SienaSaints

SienaSaints Well-Known Member

The book on Howard before the season was that Howard was a good run blocker and bad to ok in pass protection. Havent read much this season.

4. Mangold Goldman

Yea thats the way I feel, but Ive seen many times people suggest we need an upgrade at the right tackle spot. Ive wondered if thats because of Howards play, or because hes a little known player who we basically picked off the scrap heap, and people just assume he isnt that good

5. 101GangGreen101

101GangGreen101 2018 Thread of the Year Award Winner

Howard is our future at RT in my opinion. He's a physical specimen and I believe he is improving each and every week. He should be resigned to a cap friendly deal going forward.

6. Jake

Jake Well-Known Member

Hes been our best lineman so far this season. He looks like he can be the guy at RT for a while. What a find by Tannenbum.

7. RutgersJET

RutgersJET Member