The Geno Smith "Era" (Official Geno Thread) - All Geno Talk in here!

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by DarrelleRevis.Human?, Apr 26, 2013.

1. b.reyes16

b.reyes16 Well-Known Member

Weird how he was over 80% for some of the season and still finished over 70%. God, if he can't keep up 80%, he must be inaccurate as all hell.

2. BleedGreenDaily

3. Br4d

Br4d 2018 Weeb Ewbank Award

He completed 64.8% of his passes for 24 TD's and 7 Int's as a sophomore before the Air Raid was installed.

4. BleedGreenDaily

You need to watch out when you say things like these. Over 1/3 of his passes were screens behind the line of scrimmage. Lots of Padding for completion %.

#864 BleedGreenDaily, May 2, 2013
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
  5. BrowningNagle

BrowningNagle Well-Known Member

2010 they ran a much different offense, predicated on the running game and making reads and as a true sophomore, I'd say those are some great numbers.

2011 season was a rocky one early in WVU, a new coach and system, lots of transfers and what not. I remember at one point Geno was the only QB on the roster and Holgerson was reaching out for walk-ons in case he got hurt!! A whole hell of a lot was put on Geno Smith's shoulders that year.

2012 - a switch to a new conference, never easy. I like that he was exposed to perhaps more brands of defenses, different weather situations, etc than your average College QB.

Those numbers above show that he is an accurate QB that protects the ball. Very good for WCO.

6. TonyMaC

TonyMaC Well-Known Member

I had forgotten the specifics honestly, i just remember some saying he can't hit well from beyond the LoS and that his numbers were inflated with short passes and such.

watching his games now, i see that loud and clear. its his ability to work under pressure that most impresses me about him, next to his ability to learn what was a pretty large set of plays.