Kraig Urbik - RFA - Buffalo Bills

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by wildaces, Mar 31, 2012.

1. wildaces

wildaces Banned

With Tony Sparano hooking up with our ground and pound head coach, we are going to need versatile players on our offensive line. In addition we need depth at the Center position just in case Mangold misses some time.

Urbik is tendered to the Buffalo Bills for a 3rd round pick, and will come cheap. He is a right guard by trade, and moved into the center position when the bills center went down. He started 13 games in 2011 and did not allow a sack. Actually, the whole team had the fewest sacks allowed with 23.

IMO, if we could bring him in he could compete for the right tackle position, and/or the right guard position. If he beats out Hunter great, and if not we put him at right guard and move moore out.

It will cost us a 3rd round pick to sign him. Most won't like that idea, and I would argue who you would take a chance on in the third round.

Thoughts?

2. Jake

Jake Well-Known Member

Don't know anything about him but I'm hoping we take a RT in round 2 to compete with Vlad/Hunter and the losers provide depth.

3. Urbik isn't guaranteed a starting position here & we have limited cap space. If PT is a question mark and the money isn't there, why would he sign a tender?

That's the problem the Jets run into with bringing in O-line depth right now. Veterans wanna either be starters or get a nice paycheck. Jets can't offer either on the interio(Both Moore & Slauson are better players).and they're gonna give their guy Ducasse every opportunity they can to earn that starting job. Best thing the Jets can do is invest acouple mid round picks on versatile hogh ceiling O-linemen. This is the perfect time to do so b/c they have so many picks & b/c there is a transition within the blocking scheme.

If Ducasse flunks out at RT they can pick up a stop gap veteran in August. There will be plenty available.

4. laxin

laxin Active Member